If you’re interested in hearing what I’m up to regularly, here’s your chance to sign up.

The Craft Sequence

The God Wars ended, and we’re living with the world they left.

I write the Craft Sequence series of books and games, set in a postindustrial (and post-war) fantasyland, where black magic is big business, wizards wear pinstriped suits and conduct necromantic procedures on dead gods, and day-to-day commerce rests on people trading pieces of their souls for goods and services.  The Craft Sequence books are legal thrillers about faith, or religious thrillers about law and finance.  Plus there are hive-mind police forces, poet gargoyles, brainwashing golems, nightmare telegraphs, surprisingly pleasant demons, worldshattering magic, environmental devastation, and that deepest and darkest evil: student loans.

So, they’re pretty much like real life!

Want more information?  Here’s a big post with a lot of different pitches and introductions to the Sequence.  io9 called them “cyberpunk fantasy,” and some people have thrown around “faithpunk.”  I’m wary of -punk descriptions attached to things that aren’t actually, you know, punk; there’s a sort of inverse punk thing at play in my books, in that many of the characters are working within a deeply compromised system and trying (with varying degrees of success) to make it better.  Who knows whether they’ll succeed?

I do, I guess.  But I’m not telling.


I’ve written a long post about this at Tor.com, so you should really go read that.  Short version: while each book stands alone, they do take place within the same universe, and characters sometimes cross from book to book, so I wanted to make the order in which things happen clear.  The numbers in the titles refer to their place within the chronology, so right now the chronological order is:

1. Last First Snow (because First, you see)

2. Two Serpents Rise

3. Three Parts Dead

4. Four Roads Cross

5. Full Fathom Five

6. Ruin of Angels

Wait, what? Why, you may well ask, does the sixth book not have a number in the title? There are many reasons, but the one I like the best is that the first five books are a sort of complete unit. If it helps, think of them as an extra long first season of the Craft Sequence. Starting with Season Two, we’re moving forward in time with each book, so the numbers are less necessary.

To make matters even more complicated, the games, while canon, lack numbers of their own. Choice of the Deathless takes place perhaps a year or two before Two Serpents Rise; Deathless: The City’s Thirst takes place about twenty years before Last First Snow.

Wicked Problems

Gods and lawyers battle for the soul of the world in the action-packed second volume of Max Gladstone’s Craft Wars, an epic fantasy like no other.

A deadly force has been unleashed into the world. With apocalypse on the horizon, a girl and a god have joined in order to turn back the coming end. Young, brash, and desperate, they are willing to destroy anything and everything that stands between them and their goals. The structures of the Craft are theirs to overturn, with billions of lives in the balance. And it is all Tara Abernathy’s fault.

The battle for the world of the Craft is heating up. A dead god will rise. A mountain will fall. Ancient fire will be stolen. And while Tara races to stop Dawn’s plans, the end draws ever closer, skittering across the stars to swallow the world. The Craft Wars enter their second stage in Wicked Problems.

Read More

Dead Country

Since her village chased her out with pitchforks, Tara Abernathy has resurrected gods, pulled down monsters, averted wars, and saved a city, twice. She thought she’d left her dusty little hometown forever. But that was before her father died.

As she makes her way home to bury him, she finds a girl, as powerful and vulnerable and lost as she once was. Saving her from raiders twisted by the God Wars, Tara changes the course of the world.

Dead Country is the first book in the Craft Wars Series, a tight sequence of novels that will bring the sprawling saga of the Craft to its end, and the perfect entry point to this incomparable tale.

Read More

Ruin of Angels

Coming September 5, the next chapter in the Craft Sequence: The God Wars destroyed the city of Alikand. Now, a century and a half and a great many construction contracts later, Agdel Lex rises in its place. Dead deities litter the surrounding desert, streets shift when people aren’t looking, a squidlike tower dominates the skyline, and […]

Read More

The Craft Sequence Omnibus

“Stunningly good. Stupefyingly good.” Patrick Rothfuss

Set in a phenomenally-built world in which lawyers ride lightning bolts, souls are currency, and cities are powered by the remains of fallen gods, Max Gladstone’s Craft Sequence introduces readers to a modern fantasy landscape and an epic struggle to build a just society. The first five Craft Sequence novels are now available in a convenient electronic omnibus edition.

Read More

Four Roads Cross

In Four Roads Cross, the great city of Alt Coulumb is in crisis. The moon goddess Seril, long thought dead, is back–and the people of Alt Coulumb aren’t happy. Protests rock the city, and Kos Everburning’s creditors attempt a hostile takeover of the fire god’s church. Tara Abernathy, the god’s in-house Craftswoman, must defend the church against the world’s fiercest necromantic firm–and against her old classmate, a rising star in the Craftwork world.

Read More

Full Fathom Five

FULL FATHOM FIVE features outsider religion, offshore banking, brainwash golems, and slam poetry, because everything’s better with slam poetry.  And brainwash golems.

Read More

Three Parts Dead

THREE PARTS DEAD: A junior associate at an international necromancy firm is hired to resurrect a dead god.  (2012)

Read More